Skip to content

Eating at chain restaurants. Yes, really.

April 20, 2011

I just want to take this opportunity to lay something out there. In the coming months (and hopefully years), I will be dining at and reviewing some chain restaurants. Now, I know what all the hardcore foodies out there are thinking. I am sure you’re all asking, “Is he really going to waste his time with a chain restaurant?” Yes, yes I am. Here is why. Although I live in one of the greatest culinary cities in the U.S. of A., and while I love the local eateries, I am still your average “Joe.” 

My hope for this ‘blog is to review places and food that everyone can relate to and enjoy. That even includes some of your chain restaurants. If you follow me on Twitter (@castor_rated), you will see on my profile, “Giving you real reviews of real food.” I don’t think it would be fair to call it real food if I only go to places that just a handful of people would ever go to.

There are hundreds of great little places in my neighborhood on the far north side of Chicago that I could review. However, the diner on the far south side may never have the chance to come to my ‘hood just to eat. Why would he care what I have to say about some place called Gruppo di Amici? There are thousands of places downtown to enjoy (or not enjoy depending on your dining experience). However, the lady that works out in the ‘burbs or the guy that can’t afford some of the downtown prices wouldn’t be able to relate to anything on this page if I just talked about food trucks and Mastro’s. That’s no fun. 

I want this to be fun. Not only do I want readers to be informed of great, and not so great, places to dine but I also want readers to be able to follow me through this great city as I eat my way around. So just sit back, relax, and hopefully have a laugh occasionally. I will eventually get to a place you want to read about. I promise.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Bill permalink
    April 20, 2011 4:39 pm

    Great idea!!!

  2. Kirsten permalink
    April 20, 2011 10:07 pm

    Might want to reinstate that P90X regime as you “eat my way around” this great city. Ha!

    • kruze1661 permalink*
      April 21, 2011 4:05 pm

      It’s on the to-do list.

  3. Monica permalink
    April 22, 2011 1:13 am

    Wanna make us Southsiders happy? I suggest you do a review for Hawg Wild.

    • kruze1661 permalink*
      April 22, 2011 2:17 pm

      Would love to do a review down there! Heck, I would just like to go back period!

Leave a Reply

